Smugglers Blues…A Miami Vice Party

untitled

“Miami Vice: Down for the Count: Part 2 (1987)

Det. Ricardo ‘Rico’ Tubbs: You’re not listening, man.

Det. James ‘Sonny’ Crockett: Yeah, I am. I just don’t give a damn.

Det. Ricardo ‘Rico’ Tubbs: We could crash and burn.

Det. James ‘Sonny’ Crockett: I don’t give a damn about that either.

Det. James  ‘Sonny’ Crockett: Well, let’s just say you could change our priorities real quick-like.

With acting like this and lots of Glen Frey and disco and sweaty skin and pastel art deco, how can you not have loved this show? I loved this show and catching the reruns in 1988 after being out of the country for three years and not owning a TV for ten, was a near addiction. After DVD’s came available and I got all five seasons, I became addicted again.

How could I get my friends to understand this obsession? Have a Miami Vice party of course. And not just HAVE the party, but HYPE the party. I told my English friend who was turning 70 in nine months that I would throw a party for her. She’d never heard of Miami Vice but I loaned her first and second seasons and after she watched a few episodes, she was all in. (Good for me in educating the foreigners in what’s important in America.) So for nine months, my friend and I both hyped the upcoming event amongst our clan. The clan scoured their closets, watched reruns and became part of the hype.

images

While I considered the food. Not many food scenes in Miami Vice, save for the outdoor restaurant scene where Sonny Crockett, macho in white pants and pastel shirt skids across a buffet table gripping his gun… smoosh!… his feet trampling the tomato aspic and rendering the entire spread into a molten, Miami afternoon mess of cop-kill. What a great scene. But I will not make tomato aspic. Ever. Again. untitled

Eighties food, Miami food, party food…I marinated ideas for a while and this is what I came up with, much of it reminiscent of stuff I cooked in restaurants during the eighties:

Appetizer table: Shrimp cocktail, cucumber finger sandwiches, ham salad finger sandwiches, chilled Tandoori chicken, watermelon basket with vodka infused watermelon cubes

Dinner table: Carved roast pork, twice baked potatoes, zucchini almandine,tossed Caesar salad, bread sticks

Desserts: Baked Alaska, fruit Jell-O

Toasting up the meringue on one of three baked Alaskas in streetwalker's get-up

Toasting up the meringue on one of three baked Alaskas in street-walker’s get-up

 

OK so it's easier with some help

OK so it’s easier with some help

Compared to the Mardi Gras Party and the Luau Party, in this one the food was secondary to the hype of the pop culture and music of the era. There were plastic guns, dishes of fake coke and pot (oregano) and no one trampled the party spread to catch the bad guy.

101_1400101_1403

The attire was priceless, the music: Best of Miami Vice by Jan Hammer and Hits of the Eighties cranked and there’s a whole new group of Miami Vice aficionados now. Maybe I missed my calling and should’ve been a publicist.

“Freeze! Miami Vice!”

 

Leave a Reply

